"I'm so thankful for this scholarship opportunity. My interests in publishing techniques, from the web to letterpress to photocopied self-published magazines, will be at the foreground of whatever graphic communications I create this coming year. This scholarship represents, for me, my commitment to staying abreast of innovative digital publishing tools while at the same time finding ways to underline the continued importance of the beautifully printed page in art and graphic design."

John Bylander, EDSF Scholarship Recipient


Academic Council

EDSF has appointed an Academic Council, which acts as an advisory group. They help EDSF explore ideas and provide valuable input on educational programs. Council members represent a variety of geographic areas and all levels and types of academic programs. Student representation is also included on the Council.

  • Four Year Schools

  • Benjamin Lee, Ph.D.

    Acting Associate Dean
    College of Engineering, Computer Science and Technology
    California State University, Los Angeles
    Los Angeles, CA

  • Harvey Levenson, Ph.D.

    Professor and Head
    Graphic Communication Department
    California Polytechnic State University
    San Luis Obispo, CA

  • Thomas Schildgen, Ph.D.

    Professor and Chair
    Department of Information and Management Technology
    Arizona State University
    Mesa, AZ

  • Pat Sorce, Ph.D.

    Administrative Chair
    School of Print Media
    Rochester Institute of Technology
    Rochester, New York

  • John Stephens, Ph.D.

    Professor Emeritus
    School of Printing & Publishing
    London College of Communication
    Elephant and Castle, London

  • Jerry Waite, Ph.D.

    Associate Professor of Technology
    Program Head
    Graphic Communications Technology Department
    University of Houston

  • Xiao Xia Wan, Ph.D

    Dean and Department Head
    School of Printing and Packaging Science
    Wuhan University
    Wuhan, Hubei, China

  • Post-Secondary Schools

  • Dean Flowers

    Associate Dean
    Harry V. Quadracci
    Printing & Publishing Graphic Arts
    Waukesha County Technical College
    Pewaukee, WI

  • Secondary Schools

  • John Santos

    Lead Instructor
    Manual Arts High School
    Los Angeles, California USA

  • Student Representation

  • Maggie Caplan

    2007 and 2008 Scholarship Recipient
    Clemson University

  • Jennifer Dadlow

    2006 Scholarship Recipient
    Production Coordinator
    Madden Communications
    Wood Dale, Illinois USA

  • Gabe Grant

    2005, 2006 and 2007 Scholarship Recipient
    Eastern Illinois University

  • Maxim Sorokoletov

    2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Scholarship Recipient
    Database Administrator
    Arrow Electronics
    Denver, Colorado USA